Ebike Motor and Power: What the Watts Mean
Drafted with AI assistance; facts checked by Willy, OFERO Philippines against the sources listed below.
Ebike motor watts (W) are either rated (continuous) power, which the motor can keep up, or brief peak power: Bosch’s Performance Line CX is listed at 250 W rated and 600 W maximum, Honda’s EM1 e: at 0.58 kW rated and 1.7 kW maximum.34 A 1000W motor is not automatically faster than a 500W one: top speed comes from voltage, gearing and maker limits, and NXT’s 2,000 W ECHO and BEMAC’s 5 kW 68VM are both listed at 50 km/h.111713 On hills, torque in newton-meters (Nm), gearing, voltage and controller current in amps (A) tell you more than watts.12 This guide also covers the main ebike motor types: hub, mid-drive and differential.
Rated vs peak power: which watts is the seller quoting?
Grin Technologies, an ebike-motor supplier, says real output depends on motor speed and how long the load lasts, so one watt label is a rough guide.2
- Rated (continuous or nominal): what the motor can keep up; EU rules for two- and three-wheelers define maximum continuous rated power as the most an electric motor delivers over 30 minutes.16
- Peak (maximum): the most it gives for a short time, about 2.4 times rated for the Bosch CX and 2.9 times for the Honda (our calculation).34
- Partly labeled: NXT lists the Storm XRE as “6,000W (14,600W Peak Power)”, so only the larger figure is called peak; see controller current on electric motorcycles.21
- Not stated: NXT’s ECHO page (2,000 W) and BEMAC’s 68VM page (5 kW).713
Compare rated with rated, and ask the seller in writing which figure is listed.
500W vs 1000W: why watts alone do not decide speed
Grin explains that a motor speeds up until the voltage it generates nearly matches the supply, so battery voltage sets a given motor’s top speed.1 Gearing trades speed for force: Grin describes the case for multi-ratio drives, where the same 500 W motor could climb a 15° hill slowly and go fast on the flat.1 Makers cap speed too: Bosch’s CX assists up to 25 km/h, and Top Gear Philippines reported in 2024 that Hatasu’s ebikes top out at 25 km/h.311 Torque rises with current;1 Grin notes that torque depends on the controller and battery, and that for its larger Max45 hub the controller, not the motor, usually sets the ceiling.2
| Model | Wheels | Motor, as listed | Top speed | Load or climbing |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bosch Performance Line CX3 | Pedal bicycle | Mid-drive, 250 W rated, 600 W max, 85 Nm | 25 km/h (assist limit) | Not listed |
| NXT Pulse V26 | 2 | Hub, 500 W | 25–35 km/h | Not listed |
| Honda EM1 e: (Europe, 2023)4 | 2 | In-wheel, 0.58 kW rated, 1.7 kW maximum, 90 Nm | 45 km/h | 10° with 75 kg on board |
| NXT ECHO7 | Not stated (called a scooter) | 2,000 W | Up to 50 km/h | Not listed |
| Hatasu Mako 2 (reported 2024)11 | 3 | 650 W, called a differential motor | 25 km/h (brand-wide maximum) | 250 kg |
| NXT Triventure V2 DM89 | 3 | 2 hub motors × 800 W | 40–50 km/h | 250 kg |
| NXT Ranger X810 | 3 | 2,000 W; high and low gear | 45–55 km/h | 800 kg |
| BEMAC 68VM Passenger13 | 3 | 5 kW AC, with gearbox | 50 km/h | 6 + driver; 16° |
| Hatasu Buggy (reported 2025)12 | 4 | 1,200 W | 30 km/h (reported) | 300 kg; up to 20°, by load and road |
Unbox.ph reported the Buggy’s 30 km/h as its top speed;12 other reports call it the average speed (see 4-wheel ebikes). As listed (rated or unstated), 25 km/h comes with 250 W to 650 W and 40–55 km/h with 0.58 kW (Honda EM1 e:, rated) to 5 kW. What extra sustained power does buy is climbing speed under load; see the worked example.
As of 18 October 2026, LTO’s AO 2021-039 classes 2-wheelers by top speed with no watt limit, but a 3-wheeler rated at 1,000 W or more (up to 50 km/h and 600 kg curb weight) fits its L4/L5 e-tricycle class, and LTO decides each new model’s class.17 In October 2024, following a DOTr instruction, LTO suspended the registration, driver’s license and helmet requirements for light electric vehicles such as ebikes and e-trikes.18 See LTO speed classes and ask LTO.
Ebike hub motors: geared and direct-drive
A hub motor sits inside a wheel and drives it directly, as on the Pulse V2 and EM1 e:.564
- Geared hub: a fast-spinning motor turns the wheel through planetary gears, so a small motor gives substantial wheel torque. Grin says it typically weighs about 50% less than a similar direct-drive hub and almost always freewheels, ruling out regenerative braking; the gears wear and make some noise.12
- Direct-drive hub: no gears, so it must be large in diameter and fairly heavy to make enough torque; it drags slightly when coasting and can brake regeneratively.12
Mid-drive vs hub motor: why mid-drives sit mostly on electric bicycles
A mid-drive sits in the pedal area and drives through the bike’s own gears, so a lower gear lets it turn the crankset more easily on a climb, while a hub motor slows with the wheel and works harder.5 It adds chain and gear wear, which a hub motor avoids; Grin, which sells hub motors, says a suitably powerful hub usually serves as well unless you ride mainly off-road.2 Apart from the Bosch, a pedal-bicycle motor, no model in the table lists one; see how pedal assist works on electric bicycles.
E-trike motors: differential, dual hub and geared drives
Top Gear Philippines calls the Hatasu Mako 2’s 650 W motor a “differential motor” without describing its layout.11 An e-trike differential works like any other: it is the gear set that lets two driven wheels turn at different speeds in a corner, and many also reduce gear speed;14 gear reduction lets a small motor give substantial wheel torque.2 PH 3-wheeler listings describe drives differently:
- Two hub motors: NXT’s Triventure V2 DM, 2 × 800 W.9
- Motor with gears: NXT’s Ranger X (2,000 W, high and low gear) and BEMAC’s 68VM (5 kW, gearbox).1013
- “Differential motor”: the Hatasu Mako 2, as reported.11
Ask which wheels the motor drives and whether it has a low gear.
Hills, passengers and cargo: ebike na malakas sa ahon
Power is the rate of doing work, and lifting a mass takes mass × gravity × height of work,15 so climbing power rises with total weight, slope and speed.
Worked example (our calculation, lifting only): a 300 kg e-trike with riders and cargo going up a 10% slope at 20 km/h needs about 1,600 W; at 10 km/h, about 800 W. So twice the sustained power holds about twice the climbing speed. Rolling and air resistance add more. The push at the wheels is the same at both speeds, so slowing down helps only if the motor and gearing supply that torque.
- Torque (Nm): the turning force, rising with current;1 Grin advises enough torque for your hills.2
- Gearing: a lower gear eases a mid-drive’s climb;5 NXT’s Ranger X lists a low gear.10
- Voltage: sets how fast a given motor can spin.1
- Controller current (A): torque follows current, so the current the controller allows limits the push.12
In percent, 10° is about an 18% grade, 16° about 29% and 20° about 36% (our calculation). Count every passenger and bag as load.
Heat and overload
Grin credits one geared hub’s sturdier build with more headroom before overheating.2 Winding heat goes as current squared (I²R) and torque rises with current,1 so twice the torque means about four times the winding heat (our calculation), for as long as the climb lasts.
- Do not modify for more power. Grin notes that in many setups system voltage is defined by the controller electronics and cannot be readily changed;19 CPSC warns against battery packs modified or reworked by unqualified people;20 and Bosch notes that higher performance values on its drive units can increase wear and cut range.3
How to read an ebike motor spec sheet
- Motor watts: rated or peak? If only one figure is shown, ask.
- Torque in Nm: compare like with like, hub with hub and mid-drive with mid-drive.
- Voltage: 48V, 60V or 72V; see 48V vs 60V vs 72V batteries.
- Controller: voltage and amps; its volts × amps caps the power (see the ebike parts list).
- Drive type: geared hub, direct-drive hub, mid-drive or differential, and any low gear.
- Climbing, top speed and maximum load: degrees at a stated load, km/h, kg.
Each item is defined in a line or two in the ebike glossary.
An OFERO example: OFERO Philippines lists the Ofero Agila 3-wheeler with a 60V 800W motor, and its October 2026 product data gives the 60V controller a 40A current limit, for at most 2,400W (60V × 40A). That ceiling is three times the motor’s 800W figure (our calculation), which is how a motor can briefly give more than its listed watts. Read the ebike motor and controller together: where a spec sheet lists controller amps, ask whether that is the current limit.
Questions about ebike motors and power
Is a 1000W ebike faster than a 500W one?
Not by top speed alone: NXT’s 2,000 W ECHO and BEMAC’s 5 kW 68VM are both listed at 50 km/h, and Honda lists 45 km/h on 0.58 kW rated.7134 The extra watts show on hills, where at the same load, slope and gearing twice the sustained power climbs about twice as fast (see the worked example).
Can an ebike go uphill?
Yes, within its listed limits: 10° with 75 kg for the Honda EM1 e:, 16° for the BEMAC 68VM and up to 20° for the Hatasu Buggy, depending on load and road.41312 Ask for the figure at your own load.
What is an ebike differential motor?
Top Gear Philippines used the term for the Hatasu Mako 2’s 650 W motor without describing its layout.11 A differential lets two driven wheels turn at different speeds in a corner;14 ask the seller which wheels the motor drives.
Dual motor vs single: what changes?
Two motors share the work, as on NXT’s Triventure V2 DM (2 × 800 W hubs).9 Compare total rated power, torque and the climbing figure, not the number of motors.
Do ebikes have regenerative braking?
Some can: a direct-drive hub can brake regeneratively if its controller supports it, but a geared hub almost always freewheels, which rules it out (see ebike hub motors).12 Ask the seller whether a given model has it.
Sources
- Hub Motors (Learn) — Grin Technologies (ebikes.ca) (accessed 2026-10-19)
- Hub Motor Options (Getting Started) — Grin Technologies (ebikes.ca) (accessed 2026-10-18)
- Performance Line CX (BDU450 CX, listed under other models) technical data — Bosch eBike Systems (accessed 2026-10-18)
- 23YM Honda EM1 e: (press release, 12 May 2023) — Honda Motor Europe (accessed 2026-10-18)
- E-Bike Buyer's Guide: Motors and Classification (updated 2 September 2026) — Tern Bicycles (accessed 2026-10-18)
- PULSE V2 (500 Watts) (product page) — NXT (nxtebike.com.ph) (accessed 2026-10-18)
- ECHO (product page) — NXT (nxtebike.com.ph) (accessed 2026-10-18)
- 3 Wheel E Bikes (product category page) — NXT (nxtebike.com.ph) (accessed 2026-10-18)
- TRIVENTURE V2 DM (product page) — NXT (nxtebike.com.ph) (accessed 2026-10-18)
- RANGER X (product page) — NXT (nxtebike.com.ph) (accessed 2026-10-18)
- Hatasu Nero, Mako 2: Riding impressions, Specs, Prices (4 March 2024) — Top Gear Philippines (accessed 2026-10-18)
- HATASU Now Has a 4-Wheeled e-Bike (25 March 2025) — Unbox.ph (accessed 2026-10-18)
- 68VM Passenger (electric tricycle specifications) — BEMAC Electric Transportation Philippines (accessed 2026-10-18)
- Differential (mechanical device) — Wikipedia (accessed 2026-10-18)
- College Physics 2e, 7.7 Power — OpenStax (Rice University) (accessed 2026-10-18)
- Regulation (EU) No 168/2013 on the approval and market surveillance of two- or three-wheel vehicles and quadricycles (15 January 2013), Article 3: Definitions — legislation.gov.uk (The National Archives) (accessed 2026-10-18)
- LTO Administrative Order No. 2021-039: Consolidated Guidelines in the Classification, Registration and Operation of All Types of Electric Motor Vehicles (11 May 2021), transcription — Legaldex (accessed 2026-10-18)
- LTO suspends registration, license, helmet requirements for e-bike, e-trike users (16 October 2024) — Top Gear Philippines (accessed 2026-10-18)
- Batteries (Learn) — Grin Technologies (ebikes.ca) (accessed 2026-10-18)
- Micromobility: E-Bikes, E-Scooters and Hoverboards — U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (accessed 2026-10-18)
- STORM XRE (product page) — NXT (nxtebike.com.ph) (accessed 2026-10-18)