Electric Bicycle Guide: Pedal-Assist, Throttle and Folding Types
Drafted with AI assistance; facts checked by Willy, OFERO Philippines against the sources listed below.
An electric bicycle is a pedal bicycle with a small motor and battery that help you ride. In the Philippines, “ebike” covers both this and the seated kind, so an “ebike with pedal” may be either; this guide calls the pedal kind an electric bicycle. Abroad, under UK and EU rules (not Philippine law), its motor may have no more than 250 W of continuous power, and the help must stop at 25 km/h.12 The Brompton and Tern spec pages and a CarGuide.PH report on the Popcycle list 250 W motors and batteries of 252 Wh to 500 Wh.456 A seated 2-wheel ebike is a different machine: NXT lists its Pulse V2 with a 500 W motor and a 48 V 20 Ah lead-acid battery.8
What is an electric bicycle?
Definition: an electric bicycle is a bicycle you can still move with the pedals, plus a motor that adds power while you ride.
The UK rule is a clear reference point: pedals that can propel the bike, a motor of 250 W continuous or less, and no motor help above 15.5 mph (25 km/h).2 The EU uses the same limits, and the US has its own classes.1 These are foreign rules; see the FAQ for the Philippines.
There are three types, based on how you control the motor. Any of them can also fold.
- Pedal-assist (pedelec): the motor helps only while you pedal.1
- Throttle: a twist grip or thumb lever runs the motor without pedaling.24
- Combined: pedal-assist and a throttle on one bike.4
What is pedal assist? Cadence vs torque sensors
A pedal-assist electric bicycle uses a sensor to decide when to help and how much.3
- Cadence sensor: detects how fast you pedal. You get the help level you picked, steady at any pedal pressure.3
- Torque sensor: measures how hard you push, and the motor's output rises with your force. It can feel more responsive, but Gazelle notes it can feel more tiring on long rides.3
Some systems use both: Gazelle says Bosch motors combine the two signals so the help does not feel jerky or delayed.3 Brompton lists a torque sensor on its Electric C Line.5 If the sensor is not named, ask, then test-ride from a full stop.
Throttle-only and combined electric bicycles
A throttle moves the bike with no pedaling at all. Rules abroad differ: of the US classes, only Class 2 allows a throttle,1 and in the UK a bike whose motor can move it without pedaling, such as a "twist and go", needs vehicle approval.2
A combined electric bicycle gives you both. The Popcycle Friend, an electric bicycle sold in the Philippines at Popcycle stores in Metro Manila as of November 2025 (per CarGuide.PH), starts its motor when you turn the cranks and also has a thumb throttle.4 The Brompton and Tern spec pages do not list a throttle.56
Folding electric bicycles: weight, folded size and rider limit
A folding electric bicycle, often listed as a folding ebike, has hinges, so it packs small for a condo unit, a car trunk or a train. For stand-up folding scooters, see kick scooters.
- Tern lists the Vektron S10 at 22.1 kg, folding in 10 seconds to 410 × 860 × 680 mm, with a 105 kg rider limit.6
- Brompton lists its Electric C Line from 17.9 kg, or 14.1 kg without the battery, on 16-inch wheels.5
- The Popcycle Friend is a tri-fold with hinges at the frame, stem and rear triangle, 16 × 1 3/8-inch wheels and a battery inside the seat post.4
Folders use small wheels, and inch labels are not exact: a 16-inch tire commonly fits a 349 mm (Brompton-type) or 305 mm rim, and a 20-inch tire a 406 mm or 451 mm rim. Full-size 700C or "29-inch" tires use 622 mm rims.10
Where the motor sits on an electric bicycle
A hub motor sits inside the front or rear wheel hub; a mid-drive sits at the pedals and works through the bike's gears.1 For torque, hills and heat, see hub vs mid-drive motors.
| Point | Hub motor | Mid-drive motor |
|---|---|---|
| Where it sits | Front or rear wheel hub1 | At the pedals (bottom bracket)1 |
| Gears | Not affected by shifting1 | Uses the gears for higher efficiency1 |
| On hills | Spins slower and works harder1 | Shifting down keeps it at a useful speed1 |
| Ride feel | A front hub pulls you; its weight changes the steering1 | Low, central weight; rides more like a regular bike1 |
| Frame | Motor is part of the wheel | Needs a frame designed for it1 |
Motor watts and battery size, with examples
Watts can mean rated (continuous) or peak power. Bosch lists a Performance Line CX mid-drive (BDU450 CX) at 250 W rated but 600 W maximum, with 85 Nm of torque, so ask which figure a seller quotes.7 When every motor says 250 W, compare torque in newton-meters (Nm) only between motors of the same layout: hub torque is measured at the motor and mid-drive torque at the crank, so the two do not compare one-to-one.15 The Tern and Bosch mid-drives here list 50 Nm and 85 Nm.67
Battery size is in watt-hours (Wh), roughly amp-hours × pack voltage.9 Range is the maker's figure: Tern quotes 50–100 km from 400 Wh, so ask how it was measured.6 More in our ebike battery guide.
| Model | Build | Motor | Battery | Listed range | Weight | Brakes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Brompton Electric C Line (e-Motiq, 4-speed)5 | Folding; torque-sensor pedal-assist | Rear hub, 250 W, 24 Nm | 345 Wh, detachable | Up to 90 km | From 17.9 kg | Dual-pivot calipers |
| Tern Vektron S106 | Folding; pedal-assist | Bosch Active Line Plus mid-drive, 36 V, 250 W, 50 Nm | 400 Wh (300 or 500 Wh options) | 50–100 km | 22.1 kg | Magura MT4 hydraulic discs |
| Popcycle Friend4 | Tri-fold; pedal-assist plus thumb throttle | Rear hub, 250 W; 28 km/h top speed | 36 V, 252 Wh, in seat post | Up to 45 km | Not stated | Shimano hydraulic brakes (type not stated) |
| NXT Pulse V2, seated ebike (for contrast)8 | Seated, with passenger backrest | Hub motor, 500 W; 25–35 km/h | 48 V 20 Ah lead-acid (about 960 Wh nominal)9 | 35–45 km | Not stated | Drums, front and rear |
Electric bicycle vs seated 2-wheel ebike
| Point | Electric bicycle (Brompton, Tern, Popcycle) | Seated ebike (NXT Pulse V2) |
|---|---|---|
| How it moves | Pedals propel it; the motor helps2 | Motor; pedals not mentioned by the maker8 |
| Motor | 250 W456 | 500 W hub motor8 |
| Battery | 252–500 Wh456 | 48 V 20 Ah lead-acid8 |
| Speed | Help stops at 25 km/h (EU, UK); CarGuide.PH reports 28 km/h for the Popcycle14 | 25–35 km/h8 |
Both kinds are sometimes called an “electric bike”, so check which one a listing means. An electric bicycle suits riders who want light weight and exercise; a seated ebike suits riders who carry a passenger or do not want to pedal. See also types of ebike and ebike vs electric motorcycle.
How to choose: what to check
- Weight. The Brompton and Tern examples weigh 17.9 to 22.1 kg.56 If you live up stairs, lift one before you buy.
- Removable battery. If the bike cannot come indoors, you need a battery you can take out to charge. Brompton's clicks off and charges off the bike.5
- Brakes. The examples range from calipers to hydraulic discs; the seated NXT uses drums.4568 Ask how they perform in rain, and test at low speed.
- Tire size. Ask for the ISO (ETRTO) size, such as 38-622 (width and bead seat diameter in mm); if the second number matches, the tire generally fits.10 Check local stock.
- Rain. Ask for the motor and battery IP rating. In an IP code the first digit rates dust and other solids and the second water; X means not rated, and a water digit of 7 means a 30-minute test at up to 1 m of water (see the IP rating entry).11 For the wet season, see the rainy-season guide on oferoph.com, OFERO’s main site.
Warranty, official shops and price tags work the same way for any ebike; see the ebike buying guide.
Electric bicycle FAQ
Does an electric bicycle need a driver's license?
In October 2024, following a DOTr instruction, LTO suspended the registration, driver’s license and helmet requirements for light electric vehicles such as ebikes and e-trikes.12 In January 2026 LTO said DOTr was drafting new rules, and in May 2026 joint guidelines were still being finalized; for the latest, see the license guide on oferoph.com, OFERO’s main site.1314
Is an "ebike na may pedal" an electric bicycle?
Not always. Check that the pedals really move the bike and that the motor mainly helps your pedaling. A seated 2-wheeler with a 500 W motor and a passenger seat, like the NXT Pulse V2, is built for a different job.8
Electric bicycle vs regular bike: what is different?
A regular bicycle moves only when you pedal. An electric bicycle adds a motor and battery that help up to a limit, 25 km/h under UK and EU rules,12 and the battery adds weight: Brompton lists its Electric C Line from 17.9 kg, or 14.1 kg without the battery.5
Can you ride an electric bicycle without pedaling?
Only if it has a throttle. Pedal-assist motors help only while you pedal; a throttle, like the Popcycle Friend’s thumb throttle, runs the motor on its own.14
What are class 1, 2 and 3 electric bicycles?
They are the US system most states use: Class 1 is pedal-assist only up to 20 mph (32 km/h), Class 2 is throttle-assisted up to 20 mph, and Class 3 is pedal-assist only up to 28 mph (45 km/h).1 The Philippines does not use them; see LTO speed classes.
Sources
- E-Bike Buyer's Guide: Motors and Classification (updated 2 September 2026) — Tern Bicycles (accessed 2026-10-18)
- Riding an electric bike: the rules — GOV.UK (accessed 2026-10-18)
- All About eBikes: Torque vs. Cadence Sensors — Royal Dutch Gazelle (accessed 2026-10-18)
- The Popcycle Friend Is The Tri-Folding E-Bike You Can Take Anywhere (3 November 2025) — CarGuide.PH (accessed 2026-10-18)
- Electric C Line (e-Motiq, 4-speed) product specifications, UK listing — Brompton (accessed 2026-10-18)
- Vektron S10 specifications — Tern Bicycles (accessed 2026-10-18)
- Performance Line CX (BDU450 CX, listed under other models) technical data — Bosch eBike Systems (accessed 2026-10-18)
- PULSE V2 (500 Watts) product page — NXT Ebike Philippines (accessed 2026-10-18)
- Batteries (Learn) — Grin Technologies (ebikes.ca) (accessed 2026-10-18)
- Tire Sizing Systems — Sheldon Brown (accessed 2026-10-18)
- IP code (IEC 60529 ingress protection ratings) — Wikipedia (accessed 2026-10-19)
- LTO suspends registration, license, helmet requirements for e-bike, e-trike users (16 October 2024) — Top Gear Philippines (accessed 2026-10-18)
- DOTr drafts rules on registration, licensing of e-bike, e-trike riders — LTO (6 January 2026) — DZRH News (accessed 2026-10-18)
- LTO clarifies e-bike, e-trike ban (2 May 2026) — The Philippine Star (accessed 2026-10-18)
- How do you compare the torque of a mid-drive and hub motor? (undated) — Van Raam (accessed 2026-10-19)